Brain Anatomy

In humans and other vertebrates, the nervous system is comprised of two main parts: the central nervous systemand the peripheral nervous system.

Cells of the nervous system


  What is a neuron?

  What is an axon?

  Types of neurons

  What are mitochondria?


  What are glia? 

  Types of glia

Central Nervous System

The central nervous system (CNS) contains the brain and spinal cord, and forms the majority of the nervous system. The brain is protected by the thick bones of the skull, and the spinal cord is protected by the vertebrae.


  Lobes of the brain

  Corpus callosum


  The forebrain

  The midbrain

  The hindbrain

  Limbic system

Spinal cord

  The spinal cord

Peripheral Nervous System

The peripheral nervous system (PNS) connects the CNS to limbs and organs. The PNS is divided into the:

Autonomic nervous system

Somatic nervous system

Enteric nervous system